Dry talk

I am in that awful phase where I can’t seem to settle on a book to read.  I started a Nabokov, and although I think very highly of Nabokov, I couldn’t persist.  I started Terry Pratchett’s Discworld, but got distracted. Part of the reason for the phase are my eyes that have finally got the memo about my decade and have consequently started rebelling against being taxed to read under less-than-brilliant lumen. Thus enters the pair of reading glasses with which I am yet to get comfortable.  I am unable to lie down and read because being the restless lay-er that I am, the spectacle keeps shifting and the progressively altering focus gives me a headache.  Kindle paper-white is better in that the lit screen allows me to read without glasses, but, with my erstwhile kindle having been adopted by the kid, and the cooler Kindle Voyage being shared with the significant other, I don’t feel “settled”, thus adding to the already unsettled phase of existence.  The result?  I have been re-re-re-re-watching Friends and TBBT like a zombie.  And reading at snail’s pace, Agatha Christie’s Cat among the Pigeons, which is overdue at the kid’s school library by more than a fortnight.

Which comes to the point of this post.  In every other page, someone or the other is saying something ‘dryly’. I tend to imagine scenes as I read, and I can, for the life of me, not imagine what it would be like to sound ‘dry’.   I thought it was one of the useless modern American words/phrases (‘like’, ‘OMG’, ‘postal’ etc.) that everybody has adopted now, but Christie is neither modern nor American.  So, what does it sound like when someone says something dryly?  Is there something called ‘wet’ly as well?

Yes, I know it is a figure of speech, but I would like to have an image of it to be able to imagine it when reading.  Does it mean “sarcastically”?  So why not just say “sarcastically”?

Is this a dry post?  I think so.

About LG

Just because...
This entry was posted in Books and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Dry talk

  1. Dryly sounds a little moist, though. The way it rolls of the tongue. It’s a fun word.

Leave a Reply

